Before Bioethics: A History of American Medical Ethics from the Colonial Period to the Bioethics Revolution by
Before Bioethics narrates the history of American medical ethics from its colonial origins to current bioethical controversies over abortion, AIDS, animal rights, and physician-assisted suicide. The first history of American medical ethics published in more than a half century, BeforeBioethics tracks the evolution of American medical ethics from colonial midwives and physicians' oaths, to medical society codes and bioethical principles. Applying the concept of "morally disruptive technologies," it analyzes the impact of the stethoscope on conceptions of fetal life and thecriminalization of abortion, and the impact of the ventilator on our conception of death and the treatment of the dying. The narrative offers tales of those whose lives were affected by the medical ethics of their era: unwed mothers executed by puritans because midwives found them with stillborn babies; the unlikely trio - an Irishman, a Sephardic Jew and in-the-closet gay public health reformer - who drafted theAmerican Medical Association's code of ethics but received no credit for their achievement, and the founder of American gynecology celebrated during his own era but condemned today because he perfected his surgical procedures on un-anesthetized African American slave women. The book concludes byexploring the reasons underlying American society's empowerment of a hodgepodge of ex-theologians, humanist clinicians and researchers, lawyers and philosophers - the bioethicists - as authorities able to address research ethics scandals and the ethical problems generated by morally disruptivetechnologies.
A Biographical History of Endocrinology by
Establishing endocrinology as a distinct medical specialty was no easy task. This engaging volume chronicles the journey through the stories of the men -and occasional women--who shaped the specialty through the ages. In 108 brief chapters, A Biographical History of Endocrinology illuminates the progress of endocrinology from Hippocrates to the modern day. The author highlights important leaders and their contributions to the field, including these early pioneers: Kos and Alexandria, and the first human anatomy Bartolomeo Eustachi and the adrenal gland Richard Lower and the pituitary gland Thomas Addison and adrenal insufficiency Franz Leydig and testosterone secreting cells Wiliam Stewart Halsted and surgery of the thyroid gland John J. Abel and isolation of hormones Hakaru Hashimoto and his disease Covering all the watershed moments in the history of the profession, the book identifies key figures whose contributions remain relevant today. Their fascinating stories of experiments and studies, advocacy and adversity, and exploring unknown territory will inspire the next generation of endocrinologists and satisfy every clinician who ever wondered "how did we get here?" This comprehensive yet concise biographical history of endocrinology will benefit not only practicing and prospective endocrinologists, but also other medical specialists and medical historians.
Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures by
This updated and augmented third edition of this landmark encyclopedia contains approximately 1000 entries dealing in depth with the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. The entries consist of fully updated articles together with hundreds of entirely new topics adorned with full color pictures. This unique reference work includes intercultural articles on broad topics such as mathematics and astronomy as well as thoughtful philosophical articles on concepts and ideas related to the study of non-Western Science, such as rationality, objectivity, and method. You'll also find material on religion and science, East and West, and magic and science. This amazing resource even contains entries on fascinating esoteric topics such as Native American mathematics, Polynesian navigation, and African Metallurgy. There are also biographical articles for those cultures where individual scientists are known to us, such as China and the Islamic world
A History of Plastic Surgery by
This book covers the history of plastic surgery from the remarkable achievements of such ancient civilizations as India and Egypt up to the revolutionary techniques developed at the end of the Middle Age, the Renaissance and beyond. Coverage details how the knowledge of wound healing has changed and influenced plastic surgery, describes the development of various surgical reconstructive procedures and details the birth of Cosmetic Surgery.
History of Psychiatry and Medical Psychology by
This book chronicles the conceptual and methodological facets of psychiatry and medical psychology throughout history. There are no recent books covering so wide a time span. Many of the facets covered are pertinent to issues in general medicine, psychiatry, psychoanalysis, and the social sciences today. The divergent emphases and interpretations among some of the contributors point to the necessity for further exploration and analysis.
Protagonists of Medicine by
The study of medical history is interesting in itself and may help to modify the view sometimes expressed that medical students and doctors are lacking in culture of any sort. Moreover, some historical perspective is often advantageous when one is considering the multitude of advances that are now taking place in the theory and practice of medicine. This book, containing a series of collected papers concerning immunology and pathology and vascular biology and angiogenesis, drives us through scientific milestones in the history of medicine in the course of the past two centuries and highlights the contribution of pioneering scientists whose discoveries have paved the way to many researchers working in the fields of cell biology, developmental biology, immunology, pathology, and oncology. This book will serve as a resource for scientists, historians of medicine and philosophers of science and medicine.
White Coat Tales : medicine's heroes, heritage and misadventures, Second ed. by
This new edition of White Coat Tales presents intriguing stories that give historical context to what we do in medicine today--the body's "holy bone" and how it got its name, a surprising reason why gout seemed to be so prevalent several centuries ago, and the therapeutic misadventure that shortened the life of Eleanor Roosevelt. In addition to many new tales, this revised edition contains 128 illustrations, such as images of Baron von Münchhausen aloft with cannonballs and Vincent van Gogh's portrait of his doctor showing a clue to the painter's health. Read about legendary medical innovators, diseases that changed history, illnesses of famous persons, and some epic blunders of physicians and scientists. The author is Robert B. Taylor, MD, Emeritus Professor, Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine, and Professor, Eastern Virginia Medical School. Dr. Taylor is the author and editor of more than 33 medical books. To see Dr. Taylor lecture on the history of medicine, go here: https://youtu.be/Zx4yaUyaPRA
For more History of Medicine resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowBooks on the History of Medicine can be found in several places on our shelves:
| Subject | Call Number |
| History of Medicine | WZ |
| History of Nursing | WY |
The Cleveland Clinic Alumni Library also has a Historical Collection which contains older editions of CCF-authored books, other "classics" and rare books, and the print version of the Index Medicus. Please ask about the Historical Collection at the front desk.
Theresa Kline