Skip to Main Content
Cleveland Clinic Authors
Diseases of the Liver and Biliary System in Children, Fourth ed. by Deirdre A. Kelly (Editor), 2017
This market-leading book, with comprehensive coverage of the entire spectrum of liver disease in children, returns with 12 brand new chapters covering key areas in liver transplantation, viral hepatitis, and liver disease in infancy. Authored by the world's leading hepatologists and pediatricians and expertly edited by Deirdre Kelly, it covers the entire topic from pathology to diagnosis and clinical management, and in all stages of childhood from the unborn baby through to infancy, and from childhood to the transition into adolescence. Hepatologists, pediatricians and gastroenterologists of all levels will find it an essential tool to consult time and time again
Diseases of the Liver in Children by Karen F. Murray (Editor); Simon Horslen (Editor), 2014
"Diseases of the Liver in Children: Evaluation and Management" provides a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of pediatric liver disease, with a practical approach useful for the primary care provider or general gastroenterologist.With an emphasis on tables and images, this book serves as a reference for understanding basic hepatic processes and the significance of laboratory findings. It also discusses the state of the art of diagnosis and treatment of diseases that affect the pediatric liver.The text captures the key elements of treatment and monitoring important for the primary care provider partnering in the care of these patients with pediatric hepatologists. The current state of transplantation and other surgical approaches are also discussed. The importance of aggressive bowel rehabilitation in the prevention of end-stage total parenteral nutrition-induced liver disease is also covered. Written by experts in their fields andincluding the most up to date clinical information, "Diseases of the Liver in Children: Evaluation and Management" serves as a very useful resource for physicians.
Gastroenterology / Pediatric Practice Series by Warren P. Bishop, 2010
Complete how-to guidance on managing gastrointestinal diseases and disorders in children In full color! "Pediatric Practice: Gastroenterology is a beautifully illustrated and reader-friendly textbook that provides a well-rounded overview of pediatric gastroenterology that provides an excellent resource for general pediatricians and allied health professionals caring for children in general practice."--Gastroenterology Part of the Pediatric Practice series, Pediatric Practice: Gastroenterology is a unique source of clinically relevant information on the diagnosis and treatment of children with gastrointestinal symptoms and disorders. The care of the patient forms the core of this full-color resource, which also provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, pediatric resident, gastroenterologist, and pediatric nurse needs to know. Expert authors in each subject area provide detailed, yet concise overviews of important disorders of the esophagus, stomach, intestine, pancreas, and liver. You will also find discussion of common symptoms, their differential diagnosis, and how they should be evaluated and treated along with an introduction to the use of diagnostic modalities such as radiology, nuclear medicine, and endoscopy. A listing of relevant, recent articles appears at the end of each chapter allowing you to expand your exploration of a given topic. The Pediatric Practice series simplifies the care of pediatric patients by delivering: Tips that tell you what you must know--and what you must do--at every stage of care Diagnostic and treatment algorithms Signs/Symptoms and Differential Diagnosis boxes "When to Refer" boxes, which examine all the relevant clinical considerations Diagnostic Tests--with a realistic emphasis on the right tests to order Medical Treatment coverage that includes drugs, dosages, and administration in an easy-to-read tabular format Convenient icons and a templated chapter design Numerous clinical color photos and didactic diagrams Logical section organization, with consistent headings among chapters covering similar topics Introductory sections that provide an update on recent research that informs clinical practice Full-color throughout
Liver Disease in Children, Fifth ed. by Frederick J. Suchy (Editor); Ronald J. Sokol (Editor); William F. Balistreri (Editor); Jorge A. Bezerra (Associate Editor); Cara L. Mack (Associate Editor); Benjamin L. Shneider (Associate Editor), 2021
Liver disease in children is increasing in prevalence, placing a huge burden on healthcare systems and often requiring long-term management. Offering an integrative approach to the science and clinical practice of pediatric hepatology, this is the definitive reference text for improved diagnosis and treatment strategies. In the new edition of this authoritative text, chapters have been thoroughly revised in line with major advances in the field, such as recognizing the increased frequency of fatty liver disease, and how genetic testing has the potential to establish earlier diagnoses for a variety of diseases. Disorders covered include cholestasis, metabolic disorders and hepatitis, with their presentation across the spectrum of infancy, childhood and adolescence discussed. The indications and surgical aspects of liver transplant are explained and post-transplant care is described in detail. This is a valuable resource for pediatricians, hepatologists, gastroenterologists and all clinicians involved in the care of children with liver diseases.
Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease by Robert Wyllie; Jeffrey S. Hyams; Marsha Kay, 2020
Now with full-color illustrations throughout, dozens of new review questions, and state-of-the-art coverage of this fast-changing area, Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, 6th Edition, remains the leading text in the field. You'll find definitive guidance on diagnosis and treatment from experienced editors Drs. Robert Wyllie, Jeffrey S. Hyams, and Marsha Kay, as well as globally renowned contributors who share their knowledge and expertise on complex issues. Features an enhanced art program with full-color anatomical figures, clinical photos, and other illustrations throughout the text. Includes a new chapter on fecal transplantation (FCT), covering donor and recipient screening, preparation, delivery, follow-up, and safety considerations, as well as investigative uses for FCT for disorders such as IBD, IBS, and D-lactic acidosis. Prepares you for certification and recertification with more than 400 board review-style questions, answers, and rationales - 30% new to this edition. Includes detailed diagrams that accurately illustrate complex concepts and provide at-a-glance recognition of disease processes. Contains numerous algorithms that provide quick and easy retrieval of diagnostic, screening, and treatment information. Provides up-to-date information on indigenous flora and the gut microbiome and clinical correlations to treatment, as well as advancements in liver transplantation including split liver transplantation (SLT) and living donor liver transplantation (LDLT). Details key procedures such as esophagogastroduodenoscopy and related techniques; colonoscopy and polypectomy; endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography; capsule endoscopy and small bowel enteroscopy; gastrointestinal pathology; and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
More Ebooks
Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition: a Practically Painless Review by Houser, 2014
Often, information in review books can raise as many questions as it answers. This interferes with the study process, because the learner must either look up additional information or skip ahead without truly comprehending what he or she has read. As an alternative, Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition: A Practically Painless Review presents bite-size chunks of information that can be read and processed rapidly, helping learners to stay active while studying and to pick up new information the first time they read it. This book's question and answer format allows for self-testing or study with a partner or a group. The format also facilitates dipping into the book during a few minutes of downtime at the hospital or office. Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition: A Practically Painless Review is a quick and easy way to master these tricky topics and is suitable for those studying for the pediatric board exam, practicing physicians brushing up their skills and any busy clinician who wants to learn more about these topics while on the go.
Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, Sixth ed. by Robert Wyllie; Jeffrey S. Hyams; Marsha Kay, 2021
Now with full-color illustrations throughout, dozens of new review questions, and state-of-the-art coverage of this fast-changing area, Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, 6th Edition, remains the leading text in the field. You'll find definitive guidance on diagnosis and treatment from experienced editors Drs. Robert Wyllie, Jeffrey S. Hyams, and Marsha Kay, as well as globally renowned contributors who share their knowledge and expertise on complex issues. Features an enhanced art program with full-color anatomical figures, clinical photos, and other illustrations throughout the text. Includes a new chapter on fecal transplantation (FCT), covering donor and recipient screening, preparation, delivery, follow-up, and safety considerations, as well as investigative uses for FCT for disorders such as IBD, IBS, and D-lactic acidosis. Prepares you for certification and recertification with more than 400 board review-style questions, answers, and rationales - 30% new to this edition. Includes detailed diagrams that accurately illustrate complex concepts and provide at-a-glance recognition of disease processes. Contains numerous algorithms that provide quick and easy retrieval of diagnostic, screening, and treatment information. Provides up-to-date information on indigenous flora and the gut microbiome and clinical correlations to treatment, as well as advancements in liver transplantation including split liver transplantation (SLT) and living donor liver transplantation (LDLT). Details key procedures such as esophagogastroduodenoscopy and related techniques; colonoscopy and polypectomy; endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography; capsule endoscopy and small bowel enteroscopy; gastrointestinal pathology; and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease, third ed. by Petar Mamula (Editor); Andrew B. Grossman (Editor); Jonathan E. Markowitz (Editor); Judith R. Kelsen (Editor); Robert N. Baldassano (Editor), 2017
The latest edition of this essential text provides a comprehensive overview of the unique pediatric issues of inflammatory bowel disease. Through new and thoroughly revised chapters, the volume features updates regarding pathogenesis, clinic features, and management, with an emphasis on recent understanding of pharmacokinetics and the utilization of cutting edge therapeutic monitoring to maximize efficacy of medical management. The new edition also highlights newer, recently approved drugs, emerging therapies, and the most recent recommendations regarding post-operative management for patients who ultimately require surgery. Written by experts in the field, Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Third Edition is a valuable resource for both pediatric and adult gastroenterologists involved in the care of children with inflammatory bowel disease.
Pediatric Liver Transplantation by Nedim Hadzic; Ulrich Baumann; Valérie MCLIN, 2021
Written and edited by global leaders in the field, Pediatric Liver Transplantation: A Clinical Guide covers all aspects of treatment and management regarding this multifaceted procedure and unique patient population. This practical reference offers detailed, focused guidance in a highly templated, easy-to-consult format, covering everything from pre-transplantation preparation to surgical techniques to post-operative complications. Provides an in-depth understanding of all aspects of pediatric liver transplantation, ideal for pediatric hepatologists, pediatric transplant surgeons, and others on the pediatric transplant team. Covers all surgical techniques in detail, including split graft, living related, auxiliary, and domino. Discusses pediatric liver transplantation consideration for an increasing number of additional metabolic, hematologic and renal conditions; breakthroughs in grafting and stem cell therapy; and techniques and present role of hepatocyte transplantation. Uses a quick-reference templated format; each chapter includes an overview, pathophysiology, conventional management, controversies, and bulleted summary of key take-aways. Includes state-of-the-art mini-reviews based on updated references and author experience throughout the text. Features a full-color design with numerous algorithms, figures, and radiological and histopathological photos. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Approach to Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition by Deirdre Kelly; Ronald Bremner; Jane Hartley; Diana Flynn, 2014
Practical, handy and succinct, this full colour pocketbook provides clear-cut clinical guidance to the main symptoms that infants and children commonly present with in both primary and secondary care. Clearly divided into specific sections covering the GI tract, liver and nutrition, Professor Kelly and her team discuss how best to investigate and manage specific clinical problems such as vomiting, abdominal pain, acute diarrhoea, constipation and jaundice using a highly clinical problem-orientated approach. They cover the management of important clinical problems such as chronic liver disease, ascites, malnutrition, obesity, coeliac disease and inflammatory bowel disease, and provide advice on nutritional problems in premature infants and children including weaning and food aversion. Key points, potential pitfalls, and management algorithms allow for rapid-reference, and link with the latest evidence, guidelines and protocols from ESPGHAN and NASPGHAN providing coverage of the major professional society recommendations for clinical practice. Brought to you by the experts, Practical Approach to Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition is the perfect accompaniment for trainees in gastroenterology, hepatology and pediatrics, as well as nutritionists, GI nurses and GPs.
Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition by Stefano Guandalini (Editor); Anil Dhawan (Editor); David Branski (Editor), 2016
This textbook provides a comprehensive and state-of-the-art overview of the major issues specific to the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition. The first part of the book, Gastroenterology and Nutrition, presents in a systematic way the overall scope of issues encountered by children (newborn to teenagers) suffering from disorders of the gastrointestinal tract, pancreas and/or presenting nutritional issues. These chapters are structured in logical sections to facilitate consultation and include major topics ranging from congenital disorders to gastrointestinal problems of the newborn, infectious diseases of the gastrointestinal tract, and approach to nutritional problems in the various pediatric ages. The second part of the book, Hepatology, is articulated in a series of chapters which present a comprehensive review of congenital and acquired disorders of the biliary tract and liver. This section also includes a critical analysis of available diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and future perspectives. Written by experts in the field, Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition: A Comprehensive Guide to Practice constitutes a much needed, innovative resource combining updated, reliable and comprehensive information with agile consultation for a streamlined approach to the care of children with such disorders.
Diseases of the Liver and Biliary System in Children, Fourth ed. by
This market-leading book, with comprehensive coverage of the entire spectrum of liver disease in children, returns with 12 brand new chapters covering key areas in liver transplantation, viral hepatitis, and liver disease in infancy. Authored by the world's leading hepatologists and pediatricians and expertly edited by Deirdre Kelly, it covers the entire topic from pathology to diagnosis and clinical management, and in all stages of childhood from the unborn baby through to infancy, and from childhood to the transition into adolescence. Hepatologists, pediatricians and gastroenterologists of all levels will find it an essential tool to consult time and time again
Diseases of the Liver in Children by
"Diseases of the Liver in Children: Evaluation and Management" provides a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of pediatric liver disease, with a practical approach useful for the primary care provider or general gastroenterologist.With an emphasis on tables and images, this book serves as a reference for understanding basic hepatic processes and the significance of laboratory findings. It also discusses the state of the art of diagnosis and treatment of diseases that affect the pediatric liver.The text captures the key elements of treatment and monitoring important for the primary care provider partnering in the care of these patients with pediatric hepatologists. The current state of transplantation and other surgical approaches are also discussed. The importance of aggressive bowel rehabilitation in the prevention of end-stage total parenteral nutrition-induced liver disease is also covered. Written by experts in their fields andincluding the most up to date clinical information, "Diseases of the Liver in Children: Evaluation and Management" serves as a very useful resource for physicians.
Gastroenterology / Pediatric Practice Series by
Complete how-to guidance on managing gastrointestinal diseases and disorders in children In full color! "Pediatric Practice: Gastroenterology is a beautifully illustrated and reader-friendly textbook that provides a well-rounded overview of pediatric gastroenterology that provides an excellent resource for general pediatricians and allied health professionals caring for children in general practice."--Gastroenterology Part of the Pediatric Practice series, Pediatric Practice: Gastroenterology is a unique source of clinically relevant information on the diagnosis and treatment of children with gastrointestinal symptoms and disorders. The care of the patient forms the core of this full-color resource, which also provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, pediatric resident, gastroenterologist, and pediatric nurse needs to know. Expert authors in each subject area provide detailed, yet concise overviews of important disorders of the esophagus, stomach, intestine, pancreas, and liver. You will also find discussion of common symptoms, their differential diagnosis, and how they should be evaluated and treated along with an introduction to the use of diagnostic modalities such as radiology, nuclear medicine, and endoscopy. A listing of relevant, recent articles appears at the end of each chapter allowing you to expand your exploration of a given topic. The Pediatric Practice series simplifies the care of pediatric patients by delivering: Tips that tell you what you must know--and what you must do--at every stage of care Diagnostic and treatment algorithms Signs/Symptoms and Differential Diagnosis boxes "When to Refer" boxes, which examine all the relevant clinical considerations Diagnostic Tests--with a realistic emphasis on the right tests to order Medical Treatment coverage that includes drugs, dosages, and administration in an easy-to-read tabular format Convenient icons and a templated chapter design Numerous clinical color photos and didactic diagrams Logical section organization, with consistent headings among chapters covering similar topics Introductory sections that provide an update on recent research that informs clinical practice Full-color throughout
Liver Disease in Children, Fifth ed. by
Liver disease in children is increasing in prevalence, placing a huge burden on healthcare systems and often requiring long-term management. Offering an integrative approach to the science and clinical practice of pediatric hepatology, this is the definitive reference text for improved diagnosis and treatment strategies. In the new edition of this authoritative text, chapters have been thoroughly revised in line with major advances in the field, such as recognizing the increased frequency of fatty liver disease, and how genetic testing has the potential to establish earlier diagnoses for a variety of diseases. Disorders covered include cholestasis, metabolic disorders and hepatitis, with their presentation across the spectrum of infancy, childhood and adolescence discussed. The indications and surgical aspects of liver transplant are explained and post-transplant care is described in detail. This is a valuable resource for pediatricians, hepatologists, gastroenterologists and all clinicians involved in the care of children with liver diseases.
Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease by
Now with full-color illustrations throughout, dozens of new review questions, and state-of-the-art coverage of this fast-changing area, Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, 6th Edition, remains the leading text in the field. You'll find definitive guidance on diagnosis and treatment from experienced editors Drs. Robert Wyllie, Jeffrey S. Hyams, and Marsha Kay, as well as globally renowned contributors who share their knowledge and expertise on complex issues. Features an enhanced art program with full-color anatomical figures, clinical photos, and other illustrations throughout the text. Includes a new chapter on fecal transplantation (FCT), covering donor and recipient screening, preparation, delivery, follow-up, and safety considerations, as well as investigative uses for FCT for disorders such as IBD, IBS, and D-lactic acidosis. Prepares you for certification and recertification with more than 400 board review-style questions, answers, and rationales - 30% new to this edition. Includes detailed diagrams that accurately illustrate complex concepts and provide at-a-glance recognition of disease processes. Contains numerous algorithms that provide quick and easy retrieval of diagnostic, screening, and treatment information. Provides up-to-date information on indigenous flora and the gut microbiome and clinical correlations to treatment, as well as advancements in liver transplantation including split liver transplantation (SLT) and living donor liver transplantation (LDLT). Details key procedures such as esophagogastroduodenoscopy and related techniques; colonoscopy and polypectomy; endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography; capsule endoscopy and small bowel enteroscopy; gastrointestinal pathology; and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition: a Practically Painless Review by
Often, information in review books can raise as many questions as it answers. This interferes with the study process, because the learner must either look up additional information or skip ahead without truly comprehending what he or she has read. As an alternative, Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition: A Practically Painless Review presents bite-size chunks of information that can be read and processed rapidly, helping learners to stay active while studying and to pick up new information the first time they read it. This book's question and answer format allows for self-testing or study with a partner or a group. The format also facilitates dipping into the book during a few minutes of downtime at the hospital or office. Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition: A Practically Painless Review is a quick and easy way to master these tricky topics and is suitable for those studying for the pediatric board exam, practicing physicians brushing up their skills and any busy clinician who wants to learn more about these topics while on the go.
Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease, third ed. by
The latest edition of this essential text provides a comprehensive overview of the unique pediatric issues of inflammatory bowel disease. Through new and thoroughly revised chapters, the volume features updates regarding pathogenesis, clinic features, and management, with an emphasis on recent understanding of pharmacokinetics and the utilization of cutting edge therapeutic monitoring to maximize efficacy of medical management. The new edition also highlights newer, recently approved drugs, emerging therapies, and the most recent recommendations regarding post-operative management for patients who ultimately require surgery. Written by experts in the field, Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Third Edition is a valuable resource for both pediatric and adult gastroenterologists involved in the care of children with inflammatory bowel disease.
Pediatric Liver Transplantation by
Written and edited by global leaders in the field, Pediatric Liver Transplantation: A Clinical Guide covers all aspects of treatment and management regarding this multifaceted procedure and unique patient population. This practical reference offers detailed, focused guidance in a highly templated, easy-to-consult format, covering everything from pre-transplantation preparation to surgical techniques to post-operative complications. Provides an in-depth understanding of all aspects of pediatric liver transplantation, ideal for pediatric hepatologists, pediatric transplant surgeons, and others on the pediatric transplant team. Covers all surgical techniques in detail, including split graft, living related, auxiliary, and domino. Discusses pediatric liver transplantation consideration for an increasing number of additional metabolic, hematologic and renal conditions; breakthroughs in grafting and stem cell therapy; and techniques and present role of hepatocyte transplantation. Uses a quick-reference templated format; each chapter includes an overview, pathophysiology, conventional management, controversies, and bulleted summary of key take-aways. Includes state-of-the-art mini-reviews based on updated references and author experience throughout the text. Features a full-color design with numerous algorithms, figures, and radiological and histopathological photos. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Approach to Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition by
Practical, handy and succinct, this full colour pocketbook provides clear-cut clinical guidance to the main symptoms that infants and children commonly present with in both primary and secondary care. Clearly divided into specific sections covering the GI tract, liver and nutrition, Professor Kelly and her team discuss how best to investigate and manage specific clinical problems such as vomiting, abdominal pain, acute diarrhoea, constipation and jaundice using a highly clinical problem-orientated approach. They cover the management of important clinical problems such as chronic liver disease, ascites, malnutrition, obesity, coeliac disease and inflammatory bowel disease, and provide advice on nutritional problems in premature infants and children including weaning and food aversion. Key points, potential pitfalls, and management algorithms allow for rapid-reference, and link with the latest evidence, guidelines and protocols from ESPGHAN and NASPGHAN providing coverage of the major professional society recommendations for clinical practice. Brought to you by the experts, Practical Approach to Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition is the perfect accompaniment for trainees in gastroenterology, hepatology and pediatrics, as well as nutritionists, GI nurses and GPs.
Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition by
This textbook provides a comprehensive and state-of-the-art overview of the major issues specific to the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition. The first part of the book, Gastroenterology and Nutrition, presents in a systematic way the overall scope of issues encountered by children (newborn to teenagers) suffering from disorders of the gastrointestinal tract, pancreas and/or presenting nutritional issues. These chapters are structured in logical sections to facilitate consultation and include major topics ranging from congenital disorders to gastrointestinal problems of the newborn, infectious diseases of the gastrointestinal tract, and approach to nutritional problems in the various pediatric ages. The second part of the book, Hepatology, is articulated in a series of chapters which present a comprehensive review of congenital and acquired disorders of the biliary tract and liver. This section also includes a critical analysis of available diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and future perspectives. Written by experts in the field, Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition: A Comprehensive Guide to Practice constitutes a much needed, innovative resource combining updated, reliable and comprehensive information with agile consultation for a streamlined approach to the care of children with such disorders.