Skip to Main Content
Core E-Books
Atlas of Clinical Sleep Medicine by Meir H. Kryger, 2023
Easy to read and richly illustrated, Atlas of Clinical Sleep Medicine, 3rd Edition, provides the tools you need to accurately diagnose and treat the full range of adult and pediatric sleep disorders. Dr. Meir H. Kryger and a team of expert contributing authors detail the physiologic, clinical, morphologic, and investigational aspects of the sleep disorders you encounter in everyday practice-enhanced by high-quality images throughout. This highly regarded, award-winning atlas is an ideal resource for sleep practitioners and technicians in the lab, as well as an effective review for certification and recertification. Features a thoroughly illustrated, reader-friendly format that highlights key details, helping you interpret the visual manifestations of your patients' sleep disorders so you can manage them most effectively. Contains the most up-to-date drug therapy with information about the latest drugs available as well as those in clinical trials. Provides greater coverage of pediatric and adolescent disorders, including behavioral insomnia, new medication options, and multiple sleep latency testing (MSLT) specific to children. Includes current AASM scoring guidelines and diagnostic criteria. Presents correlations between normal and abnormal sleep relative to other health issues such as stroke and heart failure. Illustrates the physiology of sleep with full-color images (many are new!) and correlates the physiology with the relevant findings. Provides numerous resources online, including more than 80 patient interview and sleep lab videos and 200+ polysomnogram fragments. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Atlas of Electroencephalography in Sleep Medicine by Hrayr P. Attarian; Nidhi S. Undevia, 2012
Sleep Medicine is a field that attracts physicians from a variety of clinical backgrounds. As a result, the majority of sleep specialists who interpret sleep studies (PSG) do not have specialized training in neurophysiology and electroencephalography (EEG) interpretation. Given this and the fact that PSGs usually are run at a third of the speed of EEGs and that they usually have a limited array of electrodes, waveforms frequently appear different on the PSGs compared to the EEGs. This can lead to challenges interpreting certain unusual looking activity that may or may not be pathological. This Atlas of Electroencephalograpy in Sleep Medicine is extensively illustrated and provides an array of examples of normal waveforms commonly seen on PSG, in addition to normal variants, epileptiform and non-epileptiform abnormalities and common artifacts. This resource is divided into five main sections with a range of topics and chapters per section. The sections cover Normal Sleep Stages; Normal Variants; Epileptiform Abnormalities; Non-epileptiform Abnormalities; and Artifacts. Each example includes a brief description of each EEG together with its clinical significance, if any. Setting the book apart from others in the field is the following feature: Each EEG discussed consists of three views of the same page -- one at a full EEG montage with 30mm/sec paper speed, the same montage at 10mm/sec (PSG speed) and a third showing the same thing at 10 mm/sec, but with the abbreviated PSG montage. Unique and the first resource of its kind in sleep medicine, the Atlas of Electroencephalograpy in Sleep Medicine will greatly assist those physicians and sleep specialists who read PSGs to identify common and unusual waveforms on EEG as they may appear during a sleep study and serve as a reference for them in that capacity.
Core E-Books
Atlas of Airway Management by Steven L. Orebaugh; Paul E. Bigeleisen, 2012
Clinical applications in airway management are dependent on both the anatomy of the individual, and the individual's co-moprbidities, with different tools available for different patient presentations. The first edition of this atlas presented the most commonly used tools via clinical photos, and demonstrated proper and improper postitioning with photos utilizing cross-sections of cadavers so the relevant anatomy could be clearly seen. The second edition will present an improved and enlarged illustration program. Paul Bigelisien has been brought on as a co-editor with Orebaugh in order to oversee the illustration program. The Glidescope and other video-type laryngoscopes not covered in the first edition will be added. Subsections on airway specifics (problems encountered and decision-making) in critical care medicine, emergency medicine, and pediatrics will be added. A companion website includes instructional videos and the full content of the book.
Atlas of Sleep Medicine by Sudhansu Chokroverty, 2014
Effectively diagnose and manage adult and pediatric sleep disorders with help from "Atlas of Sleep Medicine," the most comprehensive and detailed source of pictorial and video guidance available. A full-color design with an entirely new image collection and video segments facilitates the observation and interpretation of sleep-related events and recordings. Whether you are preparing for the sleep medicine fellowship examination, or simply want to offer your patients today's best care, this sleep medicine book is an ideal resource Consult this title on your favorite device, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Confidently treat sleep-related breathing disorders with a practical step-by-step approach to positive pressure titration, summarizing merits, demerits, dangers, and limitations. Observe, evaluate, and treat unusual, uncommon, and often unrecognized PSG patterns.See how clinical and PSG findings correlate in real time for various sleep disorders by watching video segments (new to this edition ) that show sleep movements and polysomnography data side by side.Visually reinforce your understanding of circadian dysrhythmias through dynamic hypnograms and a tantalizing pictorial display. Evaluate indications and choose appropriate dental appliances with step-by-step instruction and supporting video clips.Address undesired phenomena that occur in association with sleep with eight new unique vignettes with associated videos including a variety of parasomnias, cataplexy, and death from obstructive sleep apnea. Access the fully searchable text online including the complete image library, over two dozen videos, and more at Expert Consult.
Atlas of Clinical Sleep Medicine by
Easy to read and richly illustrated, Atlas of Clinical Sleep Medicine, 3rd Edition, provides the tools you need to accurately diagnose and treat the full range of adult and pediatric sleep disorders. Dr. Meir H. Kryger and a team of expert contributing authors detail the physiologic, clinical, morphologic, and investigational aspects of the sleep disorders you encounter in everyday practice-enhanced by high-quality images throughout. This highly regarded, award-winning atlas is an ideal resource for sleep practitioners and technicians in the lab, as well as an effective review for certification and recertification. Features a thoroughly illustrated, reader-friendly format that highlights key details, helping you interpret the visual manifestations of your patients' sleep disorders so you can manage them most effectively. Contains the most up-to-date drug therapy with information about the latest drugs available as well as those in clinical trials. Provides greater coverage of pediatric and adolescent disorders, including behavioral insomnia, new medication options, and multiple sleep latency testing (MSLT) specific to children. Includes current AASM scoring guidelines and diagnostic criteria. Presents correlations between normal and abnormal sleep relative to other health issues such as stroke and heart failure. Illustrates the physiology of sleep with full-color images (many are new!) and correlates the physiology with the relevant findings. Provides numerous resources online, including more than 80 patient interview and sleep lab videos and 200+ polysomnogram fragments. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Atlas of Electroencephalography in Sleep Medicine by
Sleep Medicine is a field that attracts physicians from a variety of clinical backgrounds. As a result, the majority of sleep specialists who interpret sleep studies (PSG) do not have specialized training in neurophysiology and electroencephalography (EEG) interpretation. Given this and the fact that PSGs usually are run at a third of the speed of EEGs and that they usually have a limited array of electrodes, waveforms frequently appear different on the PSGs compared to the EEGs. This can lead to challenges interpreting certain unusual looking activity that may or may not be pathological. This Atlas of Electroencephalograpy in Sleep Medicine is extensively illustrated and provides an array of examples of normal waveforms commonly seen on PSG, in addition to normal variants, epileptiform and non-epileptiform abnormalities and common artifacts. This resource is divided into five main sections with a range of topics and chapters per section. The sections cover Normal Sleep Stages; Normal Variants; Epileptiform Abnormalities; Non-epileptiform Abnormalities; and Artifacts. Each example includes a brief description of each EEG together with its clinical significance, if any. Setting the book apart from others in the field is the following feature: Each EEG discussed consists of three views of the same page -- one at a full EEG montage with 30mm/sec paper speed, the same montage at 10mm/sec (PSG speed) and a third showing the same thing at 10 mm/sec, but with the abbreviated PSG montage. Unique and the first resource of its kind in sleep medicine, the Atlas of Electroencephalograpy in Sleep Medicine will greatly assist those physicians and sleep specialists who read PSGs to identify common and unusual waveforms on EEG as they may appear during a sleep study and serve as a reference for them in that capacity.
Atlas of Airway Management by
Clinical applications in airway management are dependent on both the anatomy of the individual, and the individual's co-moprbidities, with different tools available for different patient presentations. The first edition of this atlas presented the most commonly used tools via clinical photos, and demonstrated proper and improper postitioning with photos utilizing cross-sections of cadavers so the relevant anatomy could be clearly seen. The second edition will present an improved and enlarged illustration program. Paul Bigelisien has been brought on as a co-editor with Orebaugh in order to oversee the illustration program. The Glidescope and other video-type laryngoscopes not covered in the first edition will be added. Subsections on airway specifics (problems encountered and decision-making) in critical care medicine, emergency medicine, and pediatrics will be added. A companion website includes instructional videos and the full content of the book.
Atlas of Sleep Medicine by
Effectively diagnose and manage adult and pediatric sleep disorders with help from "Atlas of Sleep Medicine," the most comprehensive and detailed source of pictorial and video guidance available. A full-color design with an entirely new image collection and video segments facilitates the observation and interpretation of sleep-related events and recordings. Whether you are preparing for the sleep medicine fellowship examination, or simply want to offer your patients today's best care, this sleep medicine book is an ideal resource Consult this title on your favorite device, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Confidently treat sleep-related breathing disorders with a practical step-by-step approach to positive pressure titration, summarizing merits, demerits, dangers, and limitations. Observe, evaluate, and treat unusual, uncommon, and often unrecognized PSG patterns.See how clinical and PSG findings correlate in real time for various sleep disorders by watching video segments (new to this edition ) that show sleep movements and polysomnography data side by side.Visually reinforce your understanding of circadian dysrhythmias through dynamic hypnograms and a tantalizing pictorial display. Evaluate indications and choose appropriate dental appliances with step-by-step instruction and supporting video clips.Address undesired phenomena that occur in association with sleep with eight new unique vignettes with associated videos including a variety of parasomnias, cataplexy, and death from obstructive sleep apnea. Access the fully searchable text online including the complete image library, over two dozen videos, and more at Expert Consult.