For more Pharmacological resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Ed by
"Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more"--Publisher's description.
Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, Sixth ed. by
More detailed than an outlined review but less overwhelming than an encyclopedic reference, Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 6th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know in a concise, easy-to-understand manner. Authored by Craig W. Stevens, PhD, this highly illustrated introductory text helps you learn and retain key information in pharmacology-taking you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. New and extensively revised content keeps you up to date with the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Helps you understand both the basic science foundations and clinical applications of pharmacology, with useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Includes the latest drugs and therapeutic indications (more than 100 are new to this edition), along with an entirely new chapter on recent developments of immunopharmacology drugs, including antivirals and vaccinations. Addresses key topics such as antiviral and monoclonal drugs to treat COVID-19, the opioid epidemic, and gene therapy. Features more than 700 new and updated images, with many revised figures focused on clearing presenting the mechanism of action of drugs. Includes access to bonus eBook content such as animations, an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, 12th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Essential for ob/gyn physicians, primary care physicians, and any health care provider working with pregnant or postpartum women. Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk, 12th Edition, puts must-know information at your fingertips in seconds. An easy A-to-Z format lists more than 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs designed to provide the most essential information on possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant.
Clinical Pharmacology by
'The very last thing a drug regulator wishes to be able to say is, like Lord Byron (1788-1824), on the publication of his poem Childe Harold's Pilgrimage, 'I awoke one morning and found myself famous.' The twelfth edition of this long-established textbook of clinical pharmacology (first published in 1960) continues its fine tradition of balancing science and practice for improved evidence-based drug therapy and good prescribing in therapeutic settings increasingly complicated by intercurrent disease and polypharmacy. Coverage of all major therapeutic topics by body system. Introductory sections give brief chapter synopses. Case studies where relevant. Covers the needs of the developing world with a focus on practical prescribing and health technology assessment. Definition, tips, brief explanation boxes throughout. Interesting histories, etymologies and provenances of terms throughout. Entertaining footnotes throughout. Fully updated throughout. New co-editor: Fraz Mir, Addenbrooke's Hospital and Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge. Now with free e-book on StudentConsult.
Color Atlas of Pharmacology, 5th ed. by
The Fifth Edition of Luellmann's Color Atlas of Pharmacology has been extensively revised to include all recent advances and new drugs, and the illustrations have been optimized and updated. Each two-page spread presents concise text on the left complemented by detailed full-color illustrations on the right to help users quickly digest important facts and concepts. Color-coded sections provide readers with a helpful framework with which to approach the latest developments in pharmacology. Part 1, General Pharmacology, explains basic aspects, such as drug absorption, distribution, and elimination, along with the molecular mechanisms of drug actions Part 2, Systems Pharmacology, presents the different groups of drugs, emphasizing their functional and therapeutic aspects Part 3, Therapy of Selected Diseases, provides all the relevant information regarding the pharmacological treatment of a large number of conditions Key features: User-friendly format ideal for study and review, self-assessment, and quick reference Completely revised and updated, with 174 color plates New glossary of important and interesting pharmacological terms Updated detailed drug indexes containing current information on drugs listed by both generic and brand names The Fifth Edition of Color Atlas of Pharmacology is an essential study guide and reference for every student, nurse, and practicing physician needing to keep up to date with recent advances in the field.
DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, 12th ed. by
This new edition of the authoritative pharmacotherapy text has been fully updated with the latest evidence-based information and recommendations For more than 30 years, Dipiro's Pharmacotherapy has been the essential textbook for learning how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs; everything needed to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories. With content from 300 expert contributors, it offers detailed descriptions of common and uncommon disease states, including treatment by pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic means. Each disease chapter opens with Patient Care Process, helping readers understand the collaborative care model in which pharmacists work and communicate with other healthcare providers for effective coordinated care. Features Loaded with pedagogy to help students fully master concepts and practices Key concepts begin each chapter Includes algorithms, dosing recommendations, and monitoring approaches Diagnostic flow diagrams, treatment algorithms, dosing guideline recommendations, and monitoring approaches updated in full color to clearly distinguish treatment pathways New drug monitoring tables have been added Patient care process boxes help readers know how to communicate with other health care providers
Elsevier's 2024 Intravenous Medications by
Find the essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! For nearly 50 years, Elsevier's Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for complete, accurate drug information in a concise, quick-access format. New to the 2024 edition are 8 monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA, in addition to updated drug uses, interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all current IV drugs. Known as the #1 IV drug handbook on the market, this annual publication is ideal for use in critical care areas, at the nursing station, in the office, and in public health and home care settings. Detailed monographs on more than 400 IV drugs provide an impressive breadth of coverage that goes well beyond any comparable drug reference. Individual monographs include the drug name, phonetic pronunciation, usual dose, dilution, compatibility, rate of administration, actions, indications and uses, contraindications, precautions, interactions, side effects, antidote, and more. Additional drug monographs are provided on the Evolve website. Highlighted Black Box Warnings make it easy to locate information on medications with serious safety risks. Blue-screened text calls attention to special circumstances not covered by Black Box Warnings. Dosage and dilution charts within monographs provide quick summaries of essential clinical information. Life-stage dosage variances are highlighted for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients. Convenient, A-to-Z format organizes all drug monographs by generic name, allowing you to find any drug in seconds. Spiral binding allows the book to lie flat, leaving your hands free to perform other tasks. NEW! Drug monographs for 8 newly approved drugs by the FDA include the most current information. NEW! Updates on drug uses, interactions, precautions, alerts, and more are included throughout the guide to reflect changes to existing medications. NEW! Information on preparation and administration of injectable drugs from the National Coalition for IV Push Safety
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Ed. by
The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 Years! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs. Features: * Five NEW chapters:  Pharmacovigilance  Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response  The Blood-Brain Barrier  Cannabis  Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk by
The worldwide gold standard for lactation support professionals. Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant? The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs. The resource relies upon the most current evidence-based studies to evaluate the relative risk of commonly used drugs including Dr. Hales highly renowned Lactation Risk Categories (LRC). Considered indispensable by hundreds of clinicians worldwide, the book lists safe alternatives for drugs one is currently taking or might need to take in the future. For ease of access to information, it includes key points and savvy tips in information boxes, common abbreviations, illustrative diagrams, concise information on evaluating the infant, and more. New to the 2023 Edition: 72 new drugs 356 medications updated with new data 3 drugs with FDA updates 927 medications updated with new information 74 existing drugs with updated LRC New tables on monoclonal antibodies and migraines New information on cannabis Key Features: Delivers current, evidence-based information on over 1300 drugs, diseases, vaccines, syndromes. Incorporates recent updates to Dr. Hales world-renowned LRC. Includes key points and savvy tips about breastfeeding and medications for quick reference. Lists common abbreviations and drugs in easily-accessible alphabetical order. Discusses adult concerns, adult dose, pediatric concerns, infant monitoring, and alternatives. Includes succinct information on evaluation of the infant.
Handbook of Drug Interactions by
Adverse drug reactions and interactions are still a major headache for healthcare professionals around the world. The US Food and Drug Administration's database recorded almost 300,000 serious adverse events in 2009 alone, of which 45,000 instances proved fatal. This updated new edition of the indispensable guide to drug interactions incorporates fresh research completed since the book's original publication by Humana Press in 2004. Additions include a new section on pharmacogenomics, a rapidly growing field that explores the genetic basis for the variability of responses to drugs. This new material reviews important polymorphisms in drug metabolizing enzymes and applies the findings to forensic interpretation, using case studies involving opiates as exemplars. Existing chapters from the first edition have in most cases been updated and reworked to reflect new data or incorporate better tables and diagrams, as well as to include recent drugs and formulations. Recent references have been inserted too. The handbook features extra material on illicit drug use, with a new chapter tackling the subject that covers cocaine, amphetamines and cannabis, among others. The section on the central nervous system also deals with a number of drugs that are abused illicitly, such as benzodiazepines, opiates flunitrazepam and GHB, while so-called 'social' drugs such as alcohol and nicotine are still discussed in the book's section on environmental and social pharmacology. Focusing as before on detailed explanation and incorporating both pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic drug interactions, this book will continue to be a lodestar for health and forensic professionals as well as students.
ICU Quick Drug Guide by
Offering essential, evidence-based practice guidelines specifically for the critical care setting, ICU Quick Drug Guide contains up-to-date information in a quick-access format. This portable handbook provides fast, accurate drug therapy information needed at the point of care, including expert advice throughout to help clinicians determine optimal pharmacological therapy. Offers a quick summary of current clinical guidelines to experienced clinicians while providing a simplified, focused guide to all entry level clinicians. Covers the wide variety of issues seen in the ICU, including sepsis and septic shock, venous thromboembolism, acute heart failure, anaphylaxis, arrhythmias, asthma and COPD, pain, infections, pancreatitis and liver failure, stroke, and many more. Begins each topic with a brief discussion of the disease state followed by drug tables that compare and contrast different treatment regimens, including pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, drug interactions, contraindications, and hepatic/renal dosing. Contains clinical pearls organized by the top disease states seen in the critical/acute care setting. Provides practical and essential drug information from Dr. Jennifer Pai Lee, a clinical pharmacist with expertise in critical care and pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs by
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature, making this a must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company. The online version of the book provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking, and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles. Enhanced encyclopedic format with drug monographs now organized alphabetically Completely expanded coverage of each drug, with more than 1,500 drug articles and information on adverse reactions and interactions Clearer, systematic organization of information for easier reading, including case histories to provide perspective on each listing Extensive bibliography with over 40,000 references A must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company
Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice, Fifth ed. by
Be ready to prescribe and administer drugs safely and effectively, with the fully updated Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice, 5th Edition. Anchored in pharmacology and the principles of therapeutics, and written by experts in the field, this is your road map to effective drug therapies. Learn to correctly identify a disorder, review the drugs used to treat it, and select the optimal therapy. With expert direction on more than 50 common disorders, this is the ideal resource for advanced practice clinicians and students learning pharmacotherapeutics, and a go-to reference for experienced clinicians. Learn best practices for selecting the safest, most effective drug therapies . . . NEW section on pain management, addressing Opioid Use Disorder (OUD) and use of cannabis NEW and updated content on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) therapies, pharmacogenomics, liver disorders and substance use disorders Easy-to-follow, evidence-based algorithms and drug tables Content organized by drug class, with quick-scan access to generic and trade names, and dosages Explains pharmacology and patient management topics - easy-to-remember, clearly worded definitions and descriptions of common presentations Offers the foundation of drug therapeutics, including: The prescribing process from pregnancy through elderly ages Avoiding medication errors Pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, drug interactions and adverse events Principles of antimicrobial therapy Pharmacogenomics Chapters organized by body system or disorder for quick-reference: Dermatitis - Bacterial, fungal, and viral infections of the skin Ophthalmic disorders, otitis media and otitis externa Hypertension, hyperlipidemia, myocardial Infarction, heart failure, arrhythmias Respiratory infections, asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease Gastric, functional and inflammatory bowel disorders Liver diseases Urinary tract infection, prostatic disorders and erectile dysfunction, overactive bladder, sexually transmitted infections Osteoarthritis and gout, osteoporosis, rheumatoid arthritis Headaches, seizure disorders, Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease Major depressive disorder, bipolar disorders, anxiety disorders Chapter features include: Brief overview - Pathophysiology of each disorder and relevant classes of drugs Monitoring Patient Response section - What to monitor and when Patient Education section - Includes information on CAM for each disorder Drug Overview Tables - List drug uses, mechanisms of action, adverse effects, drug interactions, contraindications, and monitoring parameters Algorithms - Visual cues on how to approach treatment Case Study and Questions - Provided for each disorder Instructor Resources - Case study answers, additional case studies, multiple choice questions, power points, acronyms list
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology, 5th ed. by
Long established as the preeminent source in its field, the eagerly anticipated fifth edition of Dr Stahl's essential textbook of psychopharmacology is here! With its use of icons and figures that form Dr Stahl's unique 'visual language', the book is the single most readable source of information on disease and drug mechanisms for all students and mental health professionals seeking to understand and utilize current therapeutics, and to anticipate the future for novel medications. Every aspect of the book has been updated, with the clarity of explanation that only Dr Stahl can bring. The new edition includes over 500 new or refreshed figures, an intuitive color scheme, fourteen new uses for older drugs and eighteen brand new drugs, coverage of Parkinson's Disease Psychosis, behavioural symptoms of dementia, and mixed features in major depressive episodes, and expanded information on the medical uses of cannabis and hallucinogen assisted psychotherapy.
Stahl's essential psychopharmacology : prescriber's guide by
With the range of psychotropic drugs expanding and the usages of existing medications diversifying, we are pleased to present the Seventh Edition of the world's best-selling formulary in psychopharmacology. The new edition features nine new compounds as well as information about several new formulations of existing drugs. Many important new indications are covered for existing drugs, as are updates to the profiles of the entire content and collection, including new injectable and transdermal formulations, as well as updated warnings and indications. The Pearls have all been refreshed and the antipsychotics section has been completely revised. With its easy-to-use, full-colour template-driven navigation system, Prescriber's Guide combines evidence-based data with clinically informed advice to support everyone who is prescribing in the field of mental health.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowOther guides on drug information with a different focus:
