Basic and Clinical Biostatistics by
Learn to evaluate and apply statistics in medicine, medical research, and all health-related fields. Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research. The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed. Features: Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods. Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues. Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package . Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI . Sampling and power calculations embedded with discussion of the statistical model .
Biomedical Statistics: A Beginner's Guide by
This book is written in a very easy-to-follow format, and explains the key concepts of biomedical statistics in a lucid yet straightforward manner. It explains how mathematical and statistical tools can be used to find answers to common research questions. In addition, the main text is supplemented by a wealth of solved exercises and illustrative examples to aid in comprehension. Given its content, the book offers an invaluable quick reference guide for graduating students and can be very helpful in their examination process. At the same time, it represents a handy guide for medical and paramedical teachers, post-graduate medical students, research personnel, biomedical scientists and epidemiologists.
Biostatistics and Epidemiology, Fourth ed. by
Since the publication of the first edition, Biostatistics and Epidemiology has attracted loyal readers from across specialty areas in the biomedical community. Not only does this textbook teach foundations of epidemiological design and statistical methods, but it also includes topics applicable to new areas of research. Areas covered in the fourth edition include a new chapter on risk prediction, risk reclassification and evaluation of biomarkers, new material on propensity analyses, and a vastly expanded chapter on genetic epidemiology, which is particularly relevant to those who wish to understand the epidemiological and statistical aspects of scientific articles in this rapidly advancing field. Biostatistics and Epidemiology was written to be accessible for readers without backgrounds in mathematics. It provides clear explanations of underlying principles, as well as practical guidelines of "how to do it" and "how to interpret it." Key features include a philosophical and logical explanation at the beginning of the book, subsections that can stand alone or serve as reference, cross-referencing, recommended reading, and appendices covering sample calculations for various statistics in the text.
Converting Data into Evidence: A Statistics Primer for the Medical Practitioner by
Provides a thorough introduction to the key statistical techniques that medical practitioners encounter throughout their professional careers. These techniques play an important part in evidence-based medicine or EBM. Adherence to EBM requires medical practitioners to keep abreast of the results of medical research as reported in their general and specialty journals. At the heart of this research is the science of statistics. It is through statistical techniques that researchers are able to discern the patterns in the data that tell a clinical story worth reporting. The authors begin by discussing samples and populations, issues involved in causality and causal inference, and ways of describing data. They then proceed through the major inferential techniques of hypothesis testing and estimation, providing examples of univariate and bivariate tests. The coverage then moves to statistical modeling, including linear and logistic regression and survival analysis. In a final chapter, a user-friendly introduction to some newer, cutting-edge, regression techniques will be included, such as fixed-effects regression and growth-curve modeling. A unique feature of the work is the extensive presentation of statistical applications from recent medical literature. Over 30 different articles are explicated herein, taken from such journals. With the aid of this primer, the medical researcher will also find it easier to communicate with the statisticians on his or her research team. The book includes a glossary of statistical terms for easy access. This is an important reference work for the shelves of physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician's assistants, medical students, and residents.
Foundations of Biostatistics by
This book offers a comprehensive guide to essential techniques and methods in biostatistics, addressing the underlying concepts to aid in comprehension. The use of biostatistics techniques has increased manifold in the recent past, due to their suitability for applications in a wide range of problems in various fields. This book helps learners grasp the materials in detail, equipping them to use biostatistics techniques independently and confidently. The book starts with a summary of background materials, followed by methods and techniques. As such, with only minimum guidance from teachers, this book can provide materials for self-learning of biostatistics techniques with a deeper level of understanding. The first two chapters focus on fundamental concepts, sources of data, data types, organization of data, and descriptive statistics, followed by the basic probability concepts, distributions and sampling distributions needed in order to combine descriptive statistics with inferential techniques. Estimation and tests of hypotheses are illustrated in two separate chapters. Important measures of association, linear regression, analysis of variance and logistic regression, and proportional hazards models are then presented systematically, ensuring that the book covers the topics most essential to students and users of biostatistics in connection with a wide range of applications in various fields. The book has been carefully structured, and the content is presented in a sequence covering the essential background in a highly systematic manner, supporting the learning process by presenting theory and applications that complement one another.
Medical Statistics by
This book deals with statistics in medicine in a simple way. The text is supported by abundant examples from medical data. This book aims to explain and simplify the process of data presentation. Further aspects addressed include how to design and conduct clinical trials, and how to write journal articles.
For more resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
An Introduction to Medical Statistics by 
Medical Statistics Made Easy, 4th Edition by
Contains all you need to know to understand statistics in medicine. Medical Statistics Made Easyhas been a perennial bestseller since the first edition was published (it is consistently a #1 bestseller in medical statistics on Amazon). It is recommended worldwide on a variety of courses and programmes, from undergraduate medicine, through to professional medical qualifications. It is a book of key statistics principles for anyone studying or working in medicine and healthcare who needs a basic overview of the subject. It is ideal for non-statisticians who need to understand how statistics are used and applied in medicine and medical research. Using a consistent format, the authors describe the most common statistical methods in turn and then rate them on how difficult they are to understand and how common they are. The worked examples that demonstrate the statistical method in action have been updated to include current articles from the medical literature and now feature a wider range of medical journals. This fourth edition continues with the same structure as the previous editions, with new sections on cut-off points and ROC curves, as well as a new chapter on choosing the right statistical test. It also features a completely revised and updated 'Statistics at work' section.
Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research by 
Statistics for Nursing: a Practical Approach, third ed by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Statistics for Nursing: A Practical Approach, Third Edition is designed in accordance with the Conversation Theory of Gordon Pask and presents the complicated topic of statistics in an understandable manner for entry level nurses. The underlying principle of this design is to give students the opportunity to practice statistics while they learn statistics. The text accomplishes this through the inclusion of relevant clinical examples followed by end of chapter application exercises.The Third Edition has been updated with practice activities which enable students to apply the content they have learned. In addition, the authors have included new research articles to develop and reinforce literature critiquing skills. These new features provide more opportunities for students to apply the concepts learned while the explanations are beneficial to clinical experts interested in further developing evidence-based skills. This text meets the needs of both undergraduate nursing research students who need to learn how to critically analyze literature as well as graduate DNP students who must also be familiar with statistics for nursing in accordance with the rigor of the DNP program. New to the Third Edition:* Additional review questions* New and updated graphs and figures* Updated lesson content for computer application exercises
For more resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
